By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Armstrong/Georgia Southern consolidation committee approves four recommendations
ConnectSavannah Import Default Image
Earlier today, the Armstrong State University/Georgia Southern University Consolidation Implementation Committee (CIC) met and approved four recommendations submitted by its various Operational Working Groups (OWG).

The approved recommendations include:
The Georgia Southern University campus located in Savannah will be formally named the Armstrong Campus; the Georgia Southern campus located in Hinesville will be formally named the Liberty Campus.

All named structures currently existing on the Armstrong campus will retain their historic names.

Transfer Status for Student-Athletes: Student athletes will be immediately issued open transfer status by Armstrong’s athletic administration, with the exception of softball, whose playing season is currently in progress. "When softball season has concluded, the participating student-athletes will immediately be issued an open transfer status by Armstrong’s athletic administration. This will ensure that student-athletes do not lose any eligibility," a committee spokesperson reports.

Athletics Scholarships: All athletics-related scholarships for affected student-athletes will be honored, provided students are making satisfactory academic progress. "This plan will allow student-athletes who are affected by the consolidation to continue their education without bearing an additional financial burden," the spokesperson says.

On Jan. 11, 2017, the University System of Georgia Board of Regents voted to consolidate Armstrong State University and Georgia Southern University, ultimately creating a new Georgia Southern University with three campus locations in Savannah, Hinesville and Statesboro.