By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Mandatory evacuation east of I-95 ordered to begin 8 a.m. Saturday
ConnectSavannah Import Default Image
Gov. Deal has issued a mandatory evacuation order for coastal Georgia areas east of I-95 effective at 8 a.m. Saturday.

The Georgia Dept. of Transportation will begin contra-flow of I-16, converting it to all westbound traffic, beginning at the same time.

Gov. Deal's original six-county emergency declaration has been expanded to 30 counties: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Charlton, Chatham, Clinch, Coffee, Echols, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Jeff Davis, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Pierce, Screven, Tattnall, Toombs, Treutlen, Wayne and Ware.