By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
WSAV wins Murrow Awards
ConnectSavannah Import Default Image

WSAV-TV, the local NBC affiliate, has been honored with five Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards for excellence in television journalism.

The announcement came Tuesday by the Radio Television Digital News Association which has been honoring outstanding achievement in electronic journalism with the Murrow Awards since 1971.

Among the honors is the Murrow Award for Overall Excellence, the sixth time in the last seven years WSAV’s entire staff has been so honored.

Anchor/Reporter Dave Kartunen earns the Murrow for Investigative Reporting with his investigation into Congressional Gift Travel — revealing local members of congress accepting “free” travel from third party interest groups and what the trips actually benefit.

Anchor/reporter Tina Tyus-Shaw and Investigator Andrew Davis share the Murrow Award for Breaking News Coverage for their treatment of the surprise retirement of former Savannah Chief of Police Willie Lovett.

Chief Investigator JoAnn Merrigan and Anchor Reporter Dave Kartunen accept the Murrow Award for Continuing Coverage — for follow up over a three month period of the problems, successes and battles that surrounded the implementation of the Affordable Health Care Act.

Photographer Art Ottimo wins the Murrow Award for Use of Video (Photojournalism) for his photo essay on the Savannah Police Memorial for officers killed in action. It’s WSAV’s fifth win in this category in the past eight years.