By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
The Decision By The Numbers
Breaking down the Savannah runoff election

ON Dec. 1, a runoff was held for three positions: Mayor, Alderman at Large Post Two, and Alderman District Two.

Beginning in January after being sworn in, Eddie DeLoach will be Savannah’s next mayor, having defeated incumbent Mayor Edna Jackson. Brian Foster triumphed over Alicia Blakely for Alderman at Large Post Two. Bill Durrence won over incumbent Mary Osborne for District Two.

Here’s a closer look at the key numbers:


Percentage of overall voter turnout for the election, a very high number for a runoff and higher than for the general election in November


Turnout percentage for the highest-turnout precinct, First Presbyterian; 1513 out of 2440 registered voters in the precinct voted Dec. 1


Turnout percentage for the lowest-turnout precinct, Wildwood United Methodist; only seven out of 271 registered voters in the precinct voted Dec. 1


Winning vote margin of Eddie DeLoach over Edna Jackson


Eddie DeLoach’s early voting advantage over Edna Jackson


Eddie DeLoach’s advantage over Edna Jackson in his highest-performing precinct, First Presbyterian


Edna Jackson’s advantage over Eddie DeLoach in her highest-performing precinct, Liberty City


Total number of ballots cast in the November general election


Total number of ballots cast in this runoff election